Homepage INAIC    

Link to the official TLD Registrars TLD Registrars
Link to Global TLD Whois Global TLD Whois
Link to the Public-Root Root-Servers Public-Root Servers
Link to the Public Internet Service Providers Public ISPs
Link to Link to TLD-News TLD-News
Link to the Public-Discussions List TLD Discussion List
Link to Tools and Software Tools and Software
Link to Uniform Corporate Domain Authority UCDA
Link to the International Security Agency Multilingual TLDs
Link to the INAIC Volunteers The INAIC Volunteers
Link to Frequently Asked Questions FAQ
Link to Technical Support Technical Support
Link to contact the Internet Names Authorization & Information Center (INAIC) Contact
Next Section
IPv6 Support

IPv6 is version 6 of the Internet Protocol that was formally adopted for general use. It was initially called IP Next Generation (IPng). IPv6 is intended to replace the previous standard IPv4.

IPv4 the existing Internet Protocol only supports 4 billion (4 109) addresses. IPv6 supports up to 3.4 x 1038 (340 undecillion) addresses. It is expected that IPv4 will be supported until at least 2025, to allow time for bugs and system errors to be corrected in IPv6.

IPv6 addressing

The most dramatic change from IPv4 to IPv6 is the length of network addresses. IPv6 addresses, as defined by IETF's RFC 2373 and RFC 2374, are 128 bits long. This corresponds to 32 hexadecimal digits, which are normally used to write IPv6 addresses.

In many cases, IPv6 addresses are composed of two logical parts: a 64-bit network prefix, and a 64-bit host-addressing part, which is often automatically generated from the interface MAC address.

IPv6 and the Domain Name System

IPv6 addresses are represented in the Domain Name System by AAAA records (so-called quad-A records) for forward lookups (by analogy A records for IPv4). Reverse lookups take place under ip6.arpa domain where address space is delegated on nibble boundaries. This scheme is defined in RFC 3596.

The AAAA scheme was incorporated at the time IPv6 architecture was designed and is a simple generalization of the IPv4 DNS. The AAAA scheme was effectively standardized in August 2002 by RFC 3363.

Notation for IPv6 addresses

IPv6 addresses are 128 bits long but are normally written as eight groups of 4 hexadecimal digits each. For example, 2001:0db8:85a3:08d3:1319:8a2e:0370:7344 is a valid IPv6 address.

If a 4 digit group is 0000, it may be omitted. For example, 2001:0db8:85a3:0000:1319:8a2e:0370:7344 is the same IPv6 address as 2001:0db8:85a3::1319:8a2e:0370:7344

Following this rule, if more than two consecutive colons result from this omission, they may be reduced to two colons, as long as there is only one group of two or more consecutive colons. Thus


are valid and mean the same thing, but 2001::25de::cade is invalid. (As it is ambiguous how many 0000 groups should be on each side.)

Also leading zeros in all groups can be omitted, thus 2001:0DB8:02de::0e13 is the same thing as 2001:DB8:2de::e13

If the address is an IPv4 address in disguise, the last 32 bits may be written in decimal; thus ::ffff: is the same as ::ffff:c0a8:5909, but not the same as :: or ::c0a8:5909. The ::ffff: format is called an IPv4-mapped address. The :: format is an IPv4-compatible address.

IPv4 addresses are easily convertible to IPv6 format. For instance, if the decimal IPv4 address was (in hexadecimal, 0x874B2B34), it could be converted to 0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:0000:874B:2B34 or ::874B:2B34. Then again, one could use the hybrid notation (IPv4-compatible address), in which case the address would be ::

Next Section
Next Section

INAIC | UN1D | TLD.NAME | Public-Root | UCDA
  * The INAIC is the representative body for the next generation Internet DNS system globally supported by Public-Root, UN1D, TLD.NAME, UCDA, and many more.
Copyright ©2004 - 2015 by the Internet Names Authorization & Information Center (INAIC). All rights reserved.